2017 Week 1 Recap

2017 Week 1 Recap

Congratulations to Kyle Holtmeyer (Gross – 38) and Mike Dobel (Net – 31) for making it into Aces to Aces!

The easiest hole of the night was #6 (down-wind par 4) with an average of 0.9 strokes over par.  The toughest holes were #2 and #5, averaging 1.8 strokes over par.

Hole Par Average Score Strokes Over/Under Par
6 4 4.9 0.9
8 3 4 1
9 4 5.2 1.2
7 5 6.3 1.3
4 4 5.3 1.3
1 4 5.5 1.5
3 4 5.6 1.6
5 3 4.8 1.8
2 4 5.8 1.8

Other stats:
Most Birdies
1 – Dustin Whitmire
1 – Bryan Holtmeyer
1 – Colby McCord
1 – Dennis Maloy
1 – Joe Holtmeyer
1 – Kyle Holtmeyer
1 – Rich Stacey
1 – Scott Holtmeyer
Most Pars
7 – Kent Holtmeyer
Most Bogies
8 – Kevin Church
Low Gross
38 – Kyle Holtmeyer
High Gross
70 – Bryan Anstine
Low Net
31 – Mike Dobel
High Net
58 – Bryan Anstine

2017 League Information

2017 League Information

Greetings!  Geoff Hubbard, our new president, has provided the following information for 2017:

Players,
I am the new president of the Thursday Night Men’s League and I vow to make “The League Great Again!”  Thanks for everyone who played last year and I am hoping you will all be back again in 2017.  With that said if you could send us an e-mail (ThursdayNightMens@golfisasport.com) and let us know your team name and if you plan to play in the league again this year that would be great.  I’d like to get the teams finalized by next Friday.  If you know anyone who might be interested in playing, if a spot were to open up, please have them contact me.

The course (Tregaron) and fees ($850/team) will be staying the same.  We will also be using www.golfisasport.com again for scheduling, results, and handicaps.  You can find the information sheet for 2017 by clicking here.

We’d also like to have a league meeting before the season starts on April 6th at 6pm to go over any rule changes, league format, listen to Perfection Unattainable talk about how great they are, and enjoy some preseason camaraderie!

If you have any questions or concerns about the league please let me know and I’ll delegate it to someone else!  I hope to see you all next month and I know we are all ready for golf to be here.

Your humble servant!

Geoff Hubbard

 

 

Ground Under Repair

Ground Under Repair

Scenario
A player teed off #11 last week and the ball was located inside a roped off area (yellow rope) around a single tree on the right edge of the rough left of the cart path. The player consulted his opponent and it was decided the roped area was marked as ground under repair.   A free drop without penalty was taken.
tregaron_11

Read More Read More

Embedded Golf Ball in Bunker

Embedded Golf Ball in Bunker

Scenario
In league play, a player’s drive on #18 was heading towards the right hand fairway trap. After searching in and around the trap without success, a closer look in the trap discovered what appeared to be a ball with less than a dime’s area of the ball exposed. A discussion among the players questioned whether the ball had to be played as it lied without confirming if it was the players ball or whether the player could pick the ball up to identify that it was his and then replace it in the original spot and covered back with sand as found. The player chose to remove and identify that the ball was his and then replaced it and covered it back as found….was he correct?

Read More Read More

Scorecards

Scorecards

Reminder: We have new scorecards this year.  Please fill them out completely.  I cannot post your individual score if you do not fill out the scorecard completely.  This means your handicap index cannot change. Below is an example of a scorecard that has not been filled out.  We need the hole-by-hole scorecard filled out in addition to the post-round scoring sheet.

Incomplete Scorecard

Did you know…

Did you know…

Earlier on in the year, we added the ability for you to see your old scorecards (starting with this year).  To view them, simply view the full league schedule, find the week you want to look at, and then open the scorecard.  Every scorecard contains the scoring sheet as well.  They will not always match up to the points ultimately awarded due to a variety of errors – such as incorrect addition, using the incorrect course handicap, etc…

To view follow the following screenshot:

view_scorecard_1

Then clicking on “View” will return the scorecard and scoring sheet:

view_scorecard_2

We hope you enjoy being able to go back and look at your scorecards!

Rules Updates

Rules Updates

There has been some discussion on holes #12 and its drop area, as well as questions around relief for in-bounds lost balls (e.g. left side trees on #17)…  Here are some updates to help clarify the league’s position:

Current Rule #2: “A ball hit out of bounds & lost ball & hazard is a stroke penalty, not a stroke plus distance. Drop ball on line of flight NOT LATERAL on lost ball, unplayable, out of bounds.”

This rule has been clarified by the league officers to state that it includes balls in-bounds and out-of-bounds.  So if your ball is lost or unplayable, such as in the trees on the left side of hole #17, you can take relief on the line of flight back toward the original spot.  You incur a penalty of one shot if you take relief.

Rule #2’s proposed amendment states: “A ball hit out of bounds, or a lost ball or an unplayable ball (in-bounds), or a ball hit into a water hazard (also see rule #12) is a stroke penalty, not a stroke plus distance. Take a stroke penalty and drop ball on LINE OF FLIGHT -or- re-hit from previous spot.”


Current Rule #12: “Other than on holes that have a designated drop area, no drop should be closer to the hole. There are drop areas on holes 2,5,12, & 13”

This rule has had a few issues, given there is no marked drop area on holes #12 and #13.  The league officers have decided to play the red tees as the designated drop area on hole #12.  We will also be removing reference to the drop area on hole #13.

For hole #12, if you hit into the pond, you have two options:

  • Re-tee from the blue tee box for your third shot.  (A stroke penalty is incurred)
  • Drop from the red tee box for your third shot.  (Do not re-tee.  A stroke penalty is incurred here as well.)

Rule #12’s amendment states: “Other than on holes that have a designated drop area, no drop should be closer to the hole. There are drop areas on holes 2, 5, 12 (red tee box on hole 12). On hole #2, a tee shot in the pond – even if it crossed and rolled back in – is to be re-teed or dropped in the designated drop area.  On any hole, if you re-tee or use a drop area, you must take a stroke penalty.”


Also, to not be contradictory, we are proposing removing rule #14:

Current Rule #14: “If your tee shot lands in a body of water and the hole has a drop area, you must hit your next shot from the drop area. It does not matter how your ball ended up in the water. For example if you hit across a pond and your ball then roll back into the water, you may not take a drop at that point, you must go back to the drop area if one exists.”

This rule exists primarily for hole #2.  The intent of this has been incorporated into rule #12 above, so we are proposing striking this rule altogether.


For background information on the official USGA interpretations on relief options, we have included diagrams from the rules book:

Rule 26 – Water Hazards

golf_rule26

Rule 28 – Ball Unplayable

golf_rule28

 

Loose Impediments and Immoveable Obstructions

Loose Impediments and Immoveable Obstructions

We had two separate players on different teams report that their ball came to rest under the limbs of a dead tree branch on hole 17 this past week. Both players reported that the main branch of the limb was still up in the tree but the “crown” of the branch had fallen into the rough and was in bounds and their ball had come to rest under this part of the dead tree branches. A similar image as described by both players is shown below. It’s not known if the same tree applied to both players, but one player indicated the limb was still attached to the tree, the other player said the limb was completely severed from the tree but the main branch was still resting in the tree…. One player took a penalty and line of flight back to play the next shot, the other player was given a free drop by his opponent to nearest point of relief…. What’s the correct ruling?

Read More Read More